Structure of epothilone

    The structure of epothilone A or (1S,3S,7S,10R,11S,12S,16R)-7,11-dihydroxy-8,8,10,12-tetramethyl-3-[(E)-1-methyl-2-(2-methyl-1,3-thiazol-4-yl)ethenyl]-4,17-dioxabicyclo[14.1.0]heptadecane-5,9-dione (IUPAC nomenclature),), is characterized by a 16-membered macrocyclic lactone carrying a cis-epoxide moiety, two hydroxyl groups, two secondary methyl groups, and a gem dimethyl group, as well as a side chain consisting of a trisubstituted double bond and a thiazole moiety.
    With its seven stereocenters and two geometrical elements, epothilone A presents a considerable challenge as a synthetic target, particularly with regard to stereochemistry and functional group sensitivity.

   The epothilone family includes at present six compounds: epothilones A, B, C, D, E and F.